The Glyndebourne Chorus

Die Meistersinger 2011, Photo: Alastair Muir

"Musically it's superb, with the most responsive chorus you're likely to hear..." - Independent on Sunday

"...sang with a fiery prowess to confirm the Glyndebourne Chorus's reputation as a cradle of tomorrow's stars." - Times Literary Supplement

Chorus Master Jeremy Bines

Glyndebourne takes pride, and justifiably so, in the performances of the Glyndebourne Chorus, whose quality and commitment makes it one of the pre-eminent choruses in international opera. It is recruited annually and comprises a large number of talented and aspiring soloists, mainly drawn from the music colleges, and a core of highly motivated professional choristers.

For many the Glyndebourne Chorus provides the much needed transition from opera course at a conservatory to the professional world, with the opportunity to understudy roles in the Festival and on Tour, and in some cases leading to engagement in a principal role on tour and later in the Festival. There is an infinite amount to be learned from working in close proximity with the high-calibre artists appearing here and from exposure to some of the finest conductors, with one of London's top symphony orchestras and Britain's premier period instrument orchestra.

The list of Glyndebourne Chorus 'alumni' who have forged careers on the operatic stage is long and distinguished. It includes Thomas Allen, Janet Baker, Barry Banks, Susan Bullock, Sarah Connolly, John Daszak, Richard Van Allan, Ryland Davies, Gerald Finley, Susan Gritton, Alastair Miles, Diana Montague, Dennis O'Neill, Anne-Marie Owens, Peter Rose, Janice Watson and Louise Winter.

Steven Naylor, Director of Artistic Administration

The Glyndebourne Chorus Festival 2014


Charlotte Beament 
Sadhbh Dennedy
Lauren Fagan 
Nicola Hughes
Louise Kemeny
Magdalena Molendowska
Jacquelyn Parker
Anna Rajah 
Shuna Scott Sendall 
Rachel Taylor 
Roisín Walsh
Pamela Wilcock 
Bryony Williams
Jennie Witton
Vanessa Woodfine


Natalia Brzezińska
Sioned Gwen Davies
Jennifer Hughes
Bethan Langford
Heather Lowe
Bérengère Mauduit
Sarah Osborne
Lilly Papaioannou
Lucie Špičková
Emma Stannard
Charlotte Stephenson
Thomasin Trezise


Aidan Coburn
Jonas Cradock
Peter Ferris
James Geer
Paul Hopwood
Oliver Johnston
Niel Joubert
Sean Kerr
Anthony Osborne
Joshua Owen Mills
David Shaw
David Webb
Neil Williams


Colin Brockie
Benjamin Cahn
Brendan Collins
Andrew  Davies
Timothy Dickinson
Trevor Eliot Bowes
Thomas Humphreys
Lukasz Karauda
Cormac Lawlor
Bartholomew Lawrence
John Mackenzie-Lavansch
Aaron McAuley
Nicholas Morris
Michael Parle
Padraic Rowan
Daniel Shelvey
Božidar Smiljanić
Michael Wallace

The Jerwood Chorus development scheme

Since 2005 Glyndebourne has been able to increase its investment in developing young talent with the inauguration of the Jerwood Chorus Development Scheme. This programme has two aims: to provide training opportunities for members of the Glyndebourne Chorus, both as soloists and as members of an ensemble, and to increase performing opportunities for the many aspiring soloists that the Chorus nurtures. The singers work with leading conductors, directors, choreographers, theatre specialists and vocal coaches to enhance their skills and experience. The Scheme has been made possible through the generosity of the Jerwood Charitable Foundation.

Find out about the Jerwood Young Artists at the 2012 Festival

Jerwood Charitable Foundation logo

Why is there a time limit?

Due to demand from other customers seats are reserved for a maximum of 20 minutes in order to allow you to complete your purchase. If the order has not been completed within this time, all seats will be removed from your basket.