London Philharmonic Orchestra

Recognised today as one of the finest orchestras on the international stage, the London Philharmonic was founded in 1932 by Sir Thomas Beecham. Since then, its Principal Conductors have included Sir Adrian Boult, Bernard Haitink, Sir Georg Solti, Klaus Tennstedt and Kurt Masur. In 2007 Vladimir Jurowski became the Orchestra’s twelfth Principal Conductor and in 2008 Yannick Nézet-Séguin was appointed Principal Guest Conductor. Julian Anderson became the Orchestra’s Composer in Residence in September 2010.

The London Philharmonic Orchestra has been performing at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall since it opened in 1951, becoming resident orchestra in 1992. It also has flourishing residencies in Brighton and Eastbourne, and performs regularly around the UK. In summer, it plays for Glyndebourne Festival where it has been the resident symphony orchestra since 1964. Tours in the 2013/14 season include visits to the USA, Romania, Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Belgium, France and Spain.

The orchestra broadcasts regularly on television and radio. It has made many distinguished recordings over the years and in 2005 began releasing live, studio and archive recordings on its own CD label.

Find out more on the London Philharmonic Orchestra Website